My Fair Lady (1964) is one special film. A stellar cast and the most wonderful musical score. Quite simply, it is a masterpiece.

I first watched this film when I was about eight-years-old. Dad took me to see it in the Croydon Clocktower, now known as The David Lean Cinema. What struck me then are the same qualities I see in the film now; the vibrant colours of the flowers in the opening credits; the nimble Audrey Hepburn and her captivating performance as Eliza Doolittle; the handsome Jeremy Brett (Freddy Eynsford-Hill) singing on the street where she lives; the hilarious Rex Harrison (Professor Henry Higgins) and his marbles; and the loveable rogue that is her idle father.

Comedy flows throughout and although it is a long film (2h 50m), you are rewarded for your patience with wonderful choreography and memorable costumes. The one scene that sticks a lot in people’s minds is the Ascot Racecourse. A mix of witty conversation, good timing and one big surprise make this scene a  real winner. I love it.

My Fair Lady holds your attention right from the start. It remains a tremendous explosion of colour, comedy and melody that just keeps giving throughout the generations. Truly loverly! ***** (5 out of 5 stars)

I was thinking recently that this will probably be the next film in the running for a remake, but part of me hopes it is left alone as I really don’t think you can beat it.

My Fair Lady – I salute you!

