World War Z – a new breed of zombie

So I watched World War Z (2013) twice before writing this review because I couldn’t quite make my mind up about it. Second time around I decided that it was probably one of the better zombie films I’ve seen, not quite as good as 28 Days Later (2002), but getting there!

While the start was a little slow, I thought the storyline was very interesting – using other viruses as ‘camouflage’ to evade the zombies. Very clever. I also liked the director Marc Forster‘s decision to focus on characteristics of nature such as ‘the swarm’ and apply this to the movement of the zombies.

giphy_worldwarz.gif
The swarm

The last 40 minutes of the film are, for me, its defining moments – a tense crusade into an abandoned part of a WHO lab facility to track down the viruses needed to help save the human race…at least for a short while. The catch? A load of dormant zombies stand between Gerry Lane (Brad Pitt), his comrades, and the all important cabinet containing the viruses, culminating in one fantastic stand-off with this teeth chattering fella below! I won’t say anymore as it’ll spoil the fun if you haven’t seen this film before!

giphy_worldwarzzombie.gif
Love this guy!

 

Plenty of action as you’d expect in this, but also an intelligent plot that’s a little different from the normal zombie films. I wish I’d seen this one on the big screen! And Brad Pitt’s performance is strong and energised. Apparently World War Z 2 is out in 2017 – can’t wait!

I’d give this film a well deserved 4 out of 5 stars (****)

2 thoughts on “World War Z – a new breed of zombie

Add yours

  1. I saw this in bad circumstances (an unruly cinema) which I think affected my overall impression of the movie. I didn’t feel any tension or connection with the characters, Maybe it’s because the lead is such an iconic face…maybe it’s because it felt a bit muddled and cobbled together. I’m really not sure, but I think I need to see it again. To this day, the zombie film that has impressed me the most remains George A. Romero’s original Dawn of the Dead. Nice write-up, though. Maybe we need a Kristen Wiig zombie movie?? 😉

    Like

  2. I know what you mean about not feeling connected to the characters – I think Brad’s character came into his own a little more towards the end(!), but his family really got on my nerves if I’m honest! You’re right, the original Dawn of the Dead can not be beaten! I do really love Danny Boyle’s gritty zombie contribution though 🙂 I think a Kristen Wigg zombie movie is an excellent idea! She was great in the Ghostbusters remake (although the original will always be the best!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

